The Wayfinder team has nearly a century of experience in nonprofit, education, and grassroots activism and grantmaking. In addition to our leadership team we have a network of activists who help us amplify the most important issues in their communities, and develop a national agenda for better schools, stronger families, and thriving communities.


Our Leadership Team


Chris Stewart / Senior Partner - Chief Executive

A lifelong activist and 20 year veteran of nonprofit work, Chris Stewart has served as the former Director of Outreach and External Affairs for Education Post, the Executive Director of the African American Leadership Forum (AALF), and an elected member of the Minneapolis Public Schools Board of Education where he was radicalized by witnessing the many systemic inequities that hold our children back.


Justin Cohen / Senior Partner - Operations

Justin C. Cohen is a writer, education policy expert, and recovering nonprofit executive. His work has appeared in The New York Times, Education Week, Fusion, and the Stanford Social Innovation Review; he is a regular contributor at The Huffington Post. Previously, he served as president Mass Insight Education. He also was a writer in residence at the Carey Institute for the Global Good and served on the education policy committee for President Obama's 2008 presidential campaign. He holds a BA in cognitive science from Yale.


Angela Jones Hackley / Senior Partner - Programs + Grants

Angela Jones Hackley is a servant leader with 24+ Years of successful systemic and tactical leadership in non-profit management, resource development, policy analysis, philanthropy, program development, and relationship building.   She is skilled in collaborating across private, nonprofit, and government agencies, building consensus, setting clear expectations, and managing organizational change to achieve maximum result.  


Our Board

  • Dakarai Aarons / Data Quality Campaign

  • Dr. Meredith Anderson / UNCF

  • Sharif El-Mekki / Mastery Charter Schools

  • Lindsey Hill / Raikes Foundation

  • Brandale Randolph / 1854 Cycling Company

  • Carmita Semaan / Surge Institute